Tag: Awards

G3PSM receives the G2BVN Memorial Trophy

The 2017 Region 1 Conference agreed the award of the Roy Stevens, G2BVN, memorial trophy to Colin Thomas, G3PSM. The Trophy was formally presented to Colin by Region 1 President Don Beattie, G3BJ, at the RSGB 2018 AGM held in Birmingham on 21st April. In making the presentation, Don outlined…

Foundation to Honor Former ARRL Connecticut Section Manager Betsey Doane, K1EIC

Former Connecticut Section Manager and retired professor Betsey Doane, K1EIC, will receive the Housatonic Community College Foundation (HCCF) Lifetime Achievement Award on April 19, during the college’s 50th anniversary community celebration. Doane has been on the cutting edge of major industry advancements in teaching techniques for the visually impaired. She has worked toward developing comput……

Denmark’s EDR Offers Award for World Amateur Radio Day Contacts with 5P0WARD

World Amateur Radio Day is Wednesday, April 18, and EDR, Denmark’s International Amateur Radio Union (IARU) Member-Society, is sponsoring the 5P0WARD Award for working 5P0WARD/xx stations between 0000 and 2400 UTC. Stations in Europe qualify for a gold award by contacting 12 different 5P0WARD/xx stations on at least four different bands. For silver, work 10…

WIA Merit Awards

The WIA Merit Award program identifies and recognises outstanding achievement in the field of Amateur Radio that furthers the science of radio, and/or service to the WIA

ARRL Announces Mobile DXCC Operating Award

ARRL this week announced a Mobile DXCC Operating Award, available to radio amateurs who have contacted at least 100 DXCC entities from a working vehicle, with antennas and power source capable of operating while in motion. ARRL Radiosport Manager Norm Fusaro, W3IZ, advised those pursuing the award to put safety first. “Distracted driving is a…

ARRL Foundation Announces Joel R. Miller (W7PDX) and Martha C. Miller STEM Scholarship

The ARRL Foundation has announced a new scholarship, the Joel R. Miller (W7PDX) and Martha C. Miller STEM Scholarship. Endowed through the generosity of Joel R. Miller, W7PDX, and Martha C. Miller, this scholarship is intended to supplement the educational expenses of an Amateur Radio operator pursuing higher education. The ARRL Foundation will administer the…

Simon G4TJC – SOTA Mountain Goat

Simon Melhuish G4TJC has achieved SOTA Mountain Goat status for achieving 1000 points in the activator section of the global amateur radio awards programme [su_button url=”http://www.southgatearc.org/news/2018/february/simon-g4tjc-sota-mountain-goat.htm”]Full Original Article[/su_button]

Puerto Rico, US Virgin Island Amateurs are International Humanitarian Award Winners

The ARRL Board of Directors has conferred the 2018 International Humanitarian Award jointly on the Amateur Radio population of Puerto Rico — served by ARRL Section Manager Oscar Resto, KP4RF — and the radio amateurs of the US Virgin Islands, served by ARRL Section Manager Fred Kleber, K9VV. Radio amateurs in Puerto Rico and in the US…

Tom and Jimmy ‘complete’ GI SOTA

Jimmy Read M0HGY and his dad Tom Read M1EYP became only the 4th and 5th SOTA participants to activate every summit in the GI – Northern Ireland association [su_button url=”http://www.southgatearc.org/news/2018/january/tom-and-jimmy-complete-gi.htm”]Original Article[/su_button]

SOTA Sherpa Award for 2017 – Guru EA2IF

Each year, the SOTA Sherpa Award is made to a person who in the opinion of the SOTA Management Team, has made a particularly substantial effort and contribution in the growth and development of the programme that year [su_button url=”http://www.southgatearc.org/news/2018/january/sota-sherpa-award.htm”]Original Article[/su_button]

Jeff Smith, MI0AEX awarded MBE

Congratulations to RSGB Past-President Jeff Smith, MI0AEX, who was awarded an MBE in the New Year’s Honours List for services to health, for founding Ards Peninsula First Responders. The Ards Peninsula First Responders is a volunteer group who responds to life-threatening emergency calls, in partnership with the Northern Ireland Ambulance Service, serving the BT22 area.…

Intrepid Spirit Award

The Intrepid-DX Group is seeking nominations for the individual or group that most displayed their ‘Intrepid Spirit’ this past year [su_button url=”http://www.southgatearc.org/news/2018/january/intrepid-spirit-award.htm”]Original Article[/su_button]

RAC Canada 150 Award update

The RAC Canada 150 Award is a celebration of Canada’s 150th birthday since Confederation in 1867. RAC Stations Schedule (as of December 19, 2017) [su_button url=”http://www.southgatearc.org/news/2017/december/rac-canada-award-2012.htm”]Original Article[/su_button]

RAC Canada 150 Award

The RAC Canada 150 Award is a celebration of Canada’s 150th birthday since Confederation in 1867. The Award is issued for contacting the RAC stations between July 1, 2017 and December 31, 2017. We are now in the final few weeks of the Canada 150 Award [su_button url=”http://www.southgatearc.org/news/2017/december/rac-canada-award-1712.htm”]Original Article[/su_button]

ARRL Foundation Announces Ozaukee Radio Club, W9CQO, Scholarship:

The ARRL Foundation has announced a new, annual scholarship that is funded through the generosity of the Ozaukee Radio Club in Cedarburg, Wisconsin. The Ozaukee Radio Club, W9CQO, Scholarship, is intended to help support the post-secondary educational expenses of a current Amateur Radio licensee. Applicants must be US citizens, residents of Wisconsin, and under 26…

Goldfarb Scholarship Winner Accepts “Amazing Opportunity” to Intern for NASA

The 2015 recipient of the prestigious William R. Goldfarb Memorial Scholarship, Jacob Nunez-Kearney, KF7DSY, of Mesa, Arizona, will interrupt his matriculation at Purdue University to accept an internship this spring at NASA’s Johnson Space Center in Houston. “This is an amazing opportunity that has been many years in the making that I have decided to…

G2BVN Memorial Trophy presented in Vienna

The CEO of DokuFunk, Wolf Harranth, OE1WHC, was presented with the G2BVN Memorial Trophy in Vienna at the end of November. The presentation was made by Michael Kastelic, OE1MCU, on behalf of IARU Region 1. Many know Wolf Harranth from his work managing the “DokuFunk” archive. DokuFunk collects and archives historic pieces, among them QSL…

Ulrich Rohde, N1UL, Receives Wireless Innovation Forum Leadership Award

The oft-honored Ulrich Rohde, N1UL, is the recipient of the Wireless Innovation Forum Leadership Award (formerly International Achievement Award). The award recognizes “especially significant contributions in furthering the global mission of the Wireless Innovation Forum.” A prolific technical author, academic, and engineer, Rohde is a partner of Rohde & Schwarz in Munich, Germany, and chairman……

Roland Peddle, VE6RL (VO1BD), appointed to the Canadian Amateur Radio Hall of Fame

The Board of Trustees of the Canadian Amateur Radio Hall of Fame are pleased to appoint Roland C. Peddle, VE6RL (VO1BD) of Lethbridge, Alberta to the Canadian Amateur Radio Hall of Fame for the year 2017 [su_button url=”http://www.southgatearc.org/news/2017/november/roland-peddle-ve6rl-appointed-to-the-canadian-amateur-radio-hall-of-fame.htm”]Original Article[/su_button]

Yasme Foundation Excellence Awards and Supporting Grant

The Yasme Excellence Award is presented to individuals and groups who, through their own service, creativity, effort and dedication, have made a significant contribution to amateur radio, and included a grant to Gary Pearce, KN4AQ for HamRadioNow [su_button url=”http://www.southgatearc.org/news/2017/november/yasme-foundation-excellence-awards-and-supporting-grant.htm”]Original Article[/su_button]